Week 4 | Art Experience: Automatic Drawing

I had never really heard of the concept of automatic drawing before, but truthfully I feel like I do it quite often. When I’m bored and I have a random piece of paper and maybe a pen or something laying around, I often find myself kind of just aimlessly scribbling on the piece of paper. I don’t really think about what I’m drawing, I kind of just let my hands do what they do. Although I do this very often, I’ve never thought that this could be actual art, it always ended up just being some scribbles on a piece of paper, but this time I think it looks pretty cool.

I asked my roommate Jess to help me out with this project, and we kind of just put on some music and let our hands do whatever they wanted. We started off by drawing with a pen, and then I suggested that we could maybe go ahead and try a marker just because I thought it would feel different dragging against the paper, maybe it would influence our hands to make different shapes. Oddly enough, I was right. We kind of went for a texture contrast between the pen and the marker, and I think I like the way it turned out.

Shout out to you Jess, thanks for helping me!

image-1

Leave a Reply

